The University of Oklahoma College of Law will honor three outstanding alumni at its annual Order of the Owl Hall of Fame Ceremony, Monday, March 6. The Order of the Owl recognizes OU Law graduates who demonstrate leadership and service through outstanding accomplishments in their legal careers. This year’s honorees are:

The Honorable David B. Lewis, the first African-American to serve on the Oklahoma Court of Criminal Appeals;

LCA Fellow Judy Hamilton Morse, the first woman to act as president of a major Oklahoma law firm; and

The Honorable Steven W. Taylor, retired Oklahoma Supreme Court justice and leader in the legal profession who served as presiding judge of the state trial in the Oklahoma City bombing case.

Since its establishment in 2011, the Order of the Owl has inducted and honored 20 deserving OU Law alumni.

“It is a privilege for the university to be able to honor these outstanding graduates of the OU College of Law,” said OU President David L. Boren. “They have made and continue to make meaningful contributions to the legal profession and to the broader community.”

A leading attorney, Judy Hamilton Morse (’79) became the first woman to serve as president of a major law firm in Oklahoma. She held the role at her current firm, Crowe & Dunlevy, for three years. She is currently a director in the firm’s Oklahoma City office and is the firm’s immediate past chair of the Litigation and Trial Practice Groups. Morse is an experienced trial lawyer, having spent her career focused on litigation and trial practice, as well as bankruptcy and creditors’ rights.

She is an elected member of both the Litigation Counsel of America and the International Defense Counsel Association. Last year, she was elected as a Fellow of the American College of Bankruptcy Attorneys.

For more than 20 years, Morse has been listed in the Best Lawyers publication and was recently named the publication’s 2017 Oklahoma City Lawyer of the Year in the area of banking and finance litigation. In addition to her many Best Lawyers honors, last year Morse received recognition as one of Benchmark Litigation’s Top 250 Women in Litigation, the definitive guide to the country’s leading female litigators. Super Lawyers also named Morse one of Oklahoma’s Top 50 Lawyers last year and for seven consecutive years has recognized her as one of Oklahoma’s Top 25 Female Lawyers.

The Order of the Owl has previously inducted 20 OU Law alumni: The Honorable Thomas R. Brett, Bill W. Burgess Jr., The Honorable Michael Burrage, The Honorable Robin J. Cauthron, Dean Emeritus Andrew M. Coats, The Honorable Tom J. Colbert, James T. Comfort, William T. Comfort Jr., Ada Lois Sipuel Fisher, James L. Gallogly, The Honorable Noma D. Gurich, William G. Paul, W. DeVier Pierson, J. Hugh Roff Jr., William J. Ross, Kathy Taylor, The Honorable Ralph Thompson, The Honorable Lee West, Reggie Whitten and The Honorable Alma Bell Wilson.

Founded in 1909, the OU College of Law is Oklahoma’s premier law school. OU Law offers small sections and class sizes that encourage a strong sense of community; accomplished faculty with international expertise; and a state-of-the-art facility equipped with the latest technology. The OU College of Law is the academic home of more than 500 students enrolled in the juris doctor program, the John B. Turner Master of Laws Program, the master of legal studies program and various dual degree programs. For more information about OU Law, visit